Locals among summer MSU grads

Mississippi State University has released the graduation list for the 2016 summer term for Webster County.

Honor graduates include all bachelor-degree candidates with exceptional scholastic averages and at least half the total required course hours earned at MSU. Their specific levels of recognition and the minimum required averages for each, based on a 4.0 scale, include summa cum laude, 3.80; magna cum laude, 3.60; and cum laude, 3.40.

The academic honors are recorded on the graduates’ diplomas and permanent records, as well as in the commencement program.

  • Eupora: Melinda Bailey, College of Education, master of science; Brandi Burton, College of Education, doctorate; Blake McMullan, College of Business, master of science in information systems; Sarah Stroud, College of Education, master of arts in teaching — secondary; and Cynthia Wilson, College of Business, bachelor of business administration (magna cum laude).
  • Maben: Charles McClendon, College of Forest Resources, M.S.
  • Mantee: David Brand, College of Ag. & Life Sciences, M.S.

Editor’s Note: The list of summer 2016 graduates from MSU was not published earlier because of an oversight by newsroom staff. We apologize for the delay in publication.