3 running for Mathiston marshal post

By Russell Hood

The Webster Progress-Times

Three candidates are running for the position of Mathiston town marshal in next month’s special municipal election.

The three who met the June 22 qualifying deadline and whose names will be on the July 12 ballot are Justin W. Brown, Jeffery “Mark” Jones and Greg Raney.

Absentee voting will begin July 5 from 7 a.m.-4 p.m. The clerk’s office will also be open Saturday, July 9, from 8 a.m.-noon.

The winner will fill the vacancy created by the resignation of Shane Box, the former town marshal charged earlier this month with five counts of felony embezzlement by a public official. The term will run through June 2017, after which Mathiston will only have an appointed police chief.

Jones ran against Box in September’s special election for town marshal following the retirement of Roger Miller.

Box, who resigned in May, is accused of the embezzlement of five city-owned firearms while he was employed by the town.