Education notes

Locals among

MSU graduates

Mississippi State University has announced graduates from Webster County for the 2013 spring term. They are:

• Eupora: Sarah Alldread, College of Education, bachelor of science; Keri Canterbury, Bagley College of Engineering, BS; 
Erika Cooksey, College of Ag. & Life Sciences, master of science; 
Julian Ellison, College of Business, bachelor of business administration; 
Demingo Greenlee, College of Arts & Sciences, BS; 
Chelsea McCafferty, College of Business, BBA ; and Matthew Nicolas, Bagley College of Engineering, MS .

• Cedar Bluff: Sara Jones, College of Arts & Sciences, BS.

• Mantee: Rasheed Mitchell, College of Business, BBA; Rasheed Mitchell, College of Business, BBA; and Jason Treloar, College of Ag. & Life Sciences, bachelor of landscape architecture.


Local students

make MSU Dean’s,

president’s lists

The Mississippi State University dean’s and president’s lists for the 2013 spring semester include a number of students from Webster County.

Students on the President’s List achieved a 3.80 or better grade-point average, based on a 4.0 scale, while completing at least 12 semester hours of course work with no incomplete grades or grades lower than a C.

Dean’s List students achieved a GPA between 3.5 and 3.79, based on a 4.0 scale, while completing at least 12 semester hours of course work with no incomplete grades or grades lower than a C.

President’s List

• Eupora: Sarah Alldread, Andrew Curry, Pamla Gore, Sanessa Greenlee, Kelsey Peterson, Colten Prather, Lara Threet and Brittney Whitaker.

• Walthall: Taylor Neal.

Dean’s List

• Eupora: Clayton Browning, 
Margaret Cooper, Shawn Davis, Cody Hardin, Maggie Parsons, Aneika Redd, Catherine Ross, Carlee Smith and Paul Vaughan.

• Houston: Magda Aju Tzunun.

• Maben: Sarah Kilpatrick.

• Mantee: Michaela White.

• Mathiston: Rebecca Kelly, Cortney McAdory, Robert McBride, Amanda Pugh and Rebecca Simmons.

• Stewart: David Murphy.


MSU Extension

Service expands

science camp

For the third year, the Mississippi State University Extension Service will partner with NASA to share hands-on science activities with the state’s young people.

This year, Summer of Innovation camps will be offered in 33 counties and serve 1,400 children and teens. Campers will enjoy all-new activities designed to promote science and space exploration, such as developing a rover that can land on the moon.

“The Extension Center for Technology Outreach, 4-H Youth Development and NASA are working together to help students sustain science, technology, engineering and math learning over the summer,” said Mariah Smith, technology specialist with the center and camp coordinator. “The Summer of Innovation project has grown in size and scope each year, and participating students benefit from the challenging, yet fun, activities.”

Participating counties include Webster. Dates vary by county. For more information, contact the local Extension office or Smith at 325-0758.


Local students

named MC

academic scholars

The Office of Academic Affairs for Mississippi College has released its list of academic scholars for the 2013 spring semester.

Area students named to the Dean’s List were Sallie Adale Booth of Eupora, Ellen L. Fondren of Mathiston and Mary Catherine McKibben of Maben.

To be eligible for the Dean’s List, a student must maintain a 3.5 or better grade point average, based on a 4.0 system. The student must take a full course load of at least 12 semester hours of undergraduate credit with all academic courses impacting their grade point average

Mississippi College, affiliated with the Mississippi Baptist Convention, is a private, co-educational, Christian university of liberal arts and sciences located in Clinton.


Webster County

students make

UM honor rolls

University of Mississippi students from Webster County are listed on the Chancellor and Dean’s honor rolls for the spring 2013 semester.

Chancellor’s Honor Roll students include Robert Taylor Potter, Aubrey Cain Young, Hayden Anthony Hendrix and Anna Ruth Chesteen. For the honor, a grade-point average of from 3.75 through 4.0 is required of full-time students carrying at least 12 semester hours.

Listed on the Dean’s Honor Roll for the spring semester are Ja’killya De’keeslae Mhoon and Brian Edward Hubbard. For the honor, a GPA of from 3.50 through 3.74 is required of full-time students carrying at least 12 semester hours.


Boisseau NPHS


Former Webster County resident Brooke Boisseau was named valedictorian and STAR Student of the 2013 senior class at North Pontotoc High School.

She is the daughter of Angela Allred Boisseau, and granddaughter of Jamie and Diane Allred of Maben.

Other honors and activities include 32 on ACT; Presidential Scholarship; Cheerleading Scholarship; admitted to Honors College at the University of Southern Mississippi; Wendy’s High School Heisman school winner;

highest academic awards in English, math, science and electives; All-Division in slow-pitch softball; division runner-up in tennis, girls singles; state tournament participant, girls singles; division champion, girls singles tennis; state tournament quarterfinalist, girls singles tennis;

UCA All-American Cheerleader; Beta Club; Drama Club; Mu Alpha Theta; FCA; A honor roll; varsity letters in slow-pitch softball, fast-pitch softball, tennis, soccer, basketball and cheerleading; and Scholars Bowl team captain.

Boisseau plans to dual-major in international studies and journalism at USM.