NMMC-Eupora, foundation awards medical scholarships

From Press Reports


North Mississippi Medical Center-Eupora has awarded medical scholarships to Madison Smith and Drew Gray of Eupora High School, and Ashleigh McClellan of East Webster High School.

Smith is the seventh recipient of the $1,000 Harold H. Whitaker Educational Scholarship. This scholarship was established to recognize the 32-year career of NMMC-Eupora administrator Harold Whitaker, who retired in 2005.

Gray and McClellan were awarded each $1,000 Health Career Scholarships.

Smith graduated as valedictorian of Eupora High School and was STAR Student. Her other activities and honors included president of the Biology Club, Beta Club secretary, Interact Club reporter, Fellowship of Christian Athletes, varsity cheerleader, annual editor, Miss EHS and Merit Student. Smith plans to attend the University of Mississippi and major in pharmacy.

Gray served as vice president of the Biology Club and second vice president of Student Council. He was also a member of the Fellowship of Christian Athletes, Beta and Interact clubs. He was also a member of the football, basketball, baseball and tennis teams. Gray plans to attend the University of Mississippi this fall and major in physical therapy.

McClellan participated in activities including Beta Club, Student Council, annual staff and served as captain of the 2012 state-champion cheerleading squad. She plans to attend East Mississippi Community College and major in physical therapy.

The NMMC-Eupora Health Career Scholarships are awarded through the Health Care Foundation of North Mississippi to graduating high school seniors pursuing a health care career. Applicants are judged on ACT score, high school transcript, curriculum taken as it pertains to the chosen field, extracurricular activities, letters of recommendation and their personal statements.

Gifts to the Harold H. Whitaker Educational Scholarships can be made in honor or in memory of an individual or individuals. Checks should be made payable to Health Care Foundation and mailed to HCF, 830 S. Gloster St., Tupelo, MS 38801. Donation forms are also available at NMMC-Eupora.

For more information on the endowed scholarship fund, call NMMC-Eupora at 258-6221 or the Health Care Foundation at 662-377-3163.