Mathiston, Maben officials re-elected

From Staff Reports


All incumbent office-holders in Mathiston and Maben won re-election in Tuesday’s municipal general election.

Mathiston Mayor Jimmy Carden won re-election without opposition. All five aldermen ran for another term and were the top five vote-getters.

The aldermen, and votes received, are Matthew Carden, 176; Earl Frost, 199; Jeff Haney, 173; Lavelle McAlpin, 203; and Harvey Pinnix, 149.

Other candidates for the Mathiston Board of Aldermen, and votes received, were Betty Christopher Jeffcoats, 126; Sharon Fulgham, 119; and Jill Carroll, 84.

Roger Miller was re-elected town marshal with 197 votes to police officer Shane Box’s 64.


Maben Mayor Larry L. Pruitt also ran unopposed and was re-elected to another term. All five aldermen also ran again and were re-elected.

The aldermen and their vote totals are Darrell Bryant, 92; Patty Harpole, 94; Rufus Harris, 94; Robert Herd, 104; and Harvey Jones, 90.

Terry Harpole (19 votes) and Linda Dianna Washington (36 votes) were also candidates for the Maben Board of Aldermen.


The only contested race in the village of Walthall was that for marshal, which Casey Henderson won. He is Walthall’s fire chief and a deputy sheriff. Barry Rushing was the other candidate; vote totals were not immediately available. Incumbent Benny Neal did not seek another term.

Walthall Mayor Belinda Stewart was unopposed for re-election. Only five people ran for alderman and therefore were all elected: Isom L. “Buzz” Busby, Glendolyn Crowell (incumbent), Rodney Crowell (incumbent), Sherlene Stewart (incumbent) and Jeffrey Tabb.


The village of Mantee did not have an election because the mayor and five Board of Aldermen members weren’t facing any opposition.

A Mississippi state law holds that municipalities shouldn’t hold a general election if all races are unopposed. The incumbents are Mayor Mary Frances Baker, and aldermen Kim Davis, William Gilliland, Barbara Pumphrey, Jimmy Stevens and John Williams.

The 2013-17 municipal terms begin July 1.