Education notes

Area residents

earn ICC degrees

Area residents were among those who earned associate of arts or associate of applied science degrees or certificates at the conclusion of the 2013 spring semester at Itawamba Community College.

They include:

Eupora – Deshawn Marquell Starks, A.A.

Mantee – Zachariah Brownlee, A.A.S.; and Melinda Crowley, A.A.

Hamblin makes

President’s List

at Northwest

Peyton Hamblin of Gore Springs was among the list of distinguished Northwest Mississippi Community College students to be recognized for making the President’s List for their academic work during the spring 2013 semester.

Those students completing 12 or more semester hours with a grade point average of 3.75 or better in a four-point system are on the President’s List.

Local students

on Holmes CC

honors lists

Academic and technical students with exemplary quality point averages are recognized at the end of the fall and spring semesters by being named to the President’s or Dean’s List at Holmes Community College.

To be eligible for such recognition a student must be enrolled in at least 12 semester hours. To be placed on the President’s List, a student must have a grade point average of 3.7 to 4.0 while a Dean’s List student must have a GPA of 3.4 to 3.69.

Students to both lists have been named following the 2013 spring semester at HCC.

President’s List:

Eupora: Ashtyn Bryant, Ruth Cobb, Kevin Fonseca and Laura Fonseca

Mathiston: Keely Avent

Stewart: Jessica Parker and Daniel Power

Walthall: Bailey Haynes

Dean’s List:

Bellefontaine: Sydney Allen

Eupora: Colby Mitchell

Mantee: Patricia Neal

Stewart: Jeffrey Hahn and Samantha Makela

Rankin Chamber

honors Romines

The Rankin County Chamber of Commerce has recognized Sarah Romines as the Pearl Junior High eighth-grade Student of the Year.

She is the daughter of Rodney and Holly Cooksey Romines, and the granddaughter of Robert and Phyllis Cooksey of Eupora.