Education Notes

Signup nears for Holmes classes in Mathiston Holmes Community College is expanding its course offerings with five classes on the Wood Institute campus in Mathiston for spring 2013.

Registration will be held in the 911 building on Jan. 8 at 3:30 p.m. Students who have not applied for admission to Holmes Community College, need to do so by going to the Enroll Now tab located on the Holmes web at in the upper right corner.

Classes offered will include: English Composition II, American (U.S.) History II, Intermediate Algebra, College Algebra and Introduction to Sociology. The evening classes will begin Jan. 14 and will run through May 14, and will be held either on Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday or Thursday nights.

The Sumners Grant is available for students taking classes at Wood. For more information about the Sumners Grant, contact Ashley Broyles at 662-472-9130 or email her at

Smith recognized for leadership, service at UM University of Mississippi senior Sealy Shaw Smith of Eupora is among 152 Ole Miss students tapped for listing in the 2012-13 edition of Who’s Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges. The honorees will be recognized in a campus ceremony at 4 p.m. Jan. 25 in the Gertrude C. Ford Center for the Performing Arts.

For more than 76 years, the annual national publication has recognized outstanding students for campus leadership, community service, academic excellence and organizational membership. It has become one of the most highly regarded and longest-standing honors programs in the nation.

Edwards among MC graduates Mississippi College held fall commencement Dec. 14. More than 400 students received diplomas during the three exercises held on campus. Graduates included Traci LeClaire Edwards of Eupora, who received a bachelor of science.

Keynote speakers for the day included Scott French, certified family nurse practitioner for Baptist Health Clinics, who addressed the nursing school graduates that morning. Emily Fokeladeh, assistant professor for MC’s Department of Modern Languages, addressed the afternoon crowd attending the undergraduate degree exercise. Dr. Gerald Hasselman, associate professor for MC’s Department of Teacher Education and Leadership, spoke to the graduate degree recipients that evening.

Local students on honors lists at Northwest Johnathan Griffin and Noel Quintanilla of Eupora were among distinguished Northwest Mississippi Community College students to be recognized for making honors lists for their academic work during the fall 2012 semester.

Griffin was among students making the President’s List and Quintanilla was among those making the Dean’s List

Those students completing 12 or more semester hours with a grade point average of 3.75 or better in a four-point system are on the President’s List. The Dean’s List includes students completing a minimum of 12 semester hours with a 3.50 to 3.74 average.

Brock graduates from MUW Jennifer Brock of Mantee is a 2012 graduate of Mississippi University for Women. Brock earned a bachelor of science.

Founded in 1884 as the first public college for women in the United States, MUW is a tradition-rich university that has educated men for more than 20 years.

U.S. News & World Report’s 2012 guide, “America’s Best Colleges,” placed MUW in the top tier of Best Regional Universities in the South. MUW’s quality of education has been reflected in other national rankings including Consumers Digest, Kiplinger’s Personal Finance and Washington Monthly magazines.

Rice stars in MVSU production Mississippi Valley State University mass communication major and Eupora native Rodney Rice starred in the 2012 Valley Players fall production of “Why Teachers Go Nuts” Nov. 27 and 29.

Both shows were packed and received great reviews about the ability of the cast to stay in character during the hour-long comedy.

The Valley Players is a unit of the Department of Communication and consists of MVSU students who are communication majors or have an interest in performing arts. The Valley Players are under the direction of Barbara Baymon.