Hood, Hollenhead, McKibben win races

By Russell Hood The Webster Progress-Times

Jimmy Hood will take office as the newest member of the Webster County School Board in January following his win in District 3 Tuesday.

Hood garnered 584 votes (62 percent) in defeating opponent Naioma Lamb, who received 354 votes, according to complete but unofficial results from the general election. Incumbent Etty P. Brown did not seek a third term.

District 4’s Scott Hollenhead was re-elected to another term on the School Board after receiving 824 votes (78 percent). Challenger Cherraye Oats received 235 votes, election results show.

In the only other locally contested race, District 5 Election Commissioner Daphne McKibben retained her seat. She received 539 votes (51 percent) and opponent Larry Parker received 517 votes; both ran as Republicans. McKibben was appointed to the county Election Commission in April to fill a vacancy.

Election commissioners Pauline Quinn (District 1), Joyce James (District 2) Etoile Herrod (District 3) and Parvin South (District 4) were unopposed.

Democratic President Barack O’Bama and Vice President Joe Biden won re-election but Republican nominee Mitt Romney and running mate Paul Ryan carried Webster County with 3,976 votes (76 percent). The Obama/ Biden ticket received 1,180 (23 percent) of the county’s votes.

Republican U.S. Sen. Roger Wicker, who was re-elected, carried the county with 3,919 votes (77 percent). Democratic challenger Albert N. Gore Jr. of Starkville received 1,124 votes here.

Republican U.S. Rep. Alan Nunnelee was re-elected as 1st District congressman and carried the county with 3,769 votes (75 percent). His Democratic opponent was Oxford attorney Brad Morris, who received 1,127 votes in Webster.

In the non-partisan District 3 (Northern) Mississippi Supreme Court justice race between Josiah Coleman of Toccopola and Richard “Flip” Phillips of Batesville, Coleman won the election outright and carried Webster County with 3,247 votes (67 percent). Phillips received 1,570 votes locally.

Coleman will succeed Justice George Carlson of Batesville, who didn’t seek re-election.

About 69 percent of Webster County’s 7,612 registered voters cast ballots in the general election.