Qualified voters can vote absentee

By Russell Hood The Webster Progress-Times

Qualified residents may cast absentee ballots for the Nov. 6 presidential election now through Nov. 3 in the Webster County circuit clerk’s office in Walthall.

The ballot includes contested races in the U.S. Senate and House, along with one position on the state Supreme Court, a county Election Commission post and two races for the county School Board.

The circuit clerk’s office in the Courthouse is open daily from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. for absentee voting. The office will also be open the next two Saturdays from 8 a.m. to noon for absentee voting. The deadline for absentee balloting in person at the clerk’s office is noon Nov. 3.

Ballots returned by mail must be received in the circuit clerk’s office by 5 p.m. Nov. 5. Military absentee ballots must be received by 7 p.m. on Election Day.

Eligible Voters According to state law, these categories of registered voters are eligible to cast an absentee ballot: • Members of the Armed Forces or their spouses and/or dependents; • Members of the Merchant Marines or the American Red Cross, or their spouses and/or dependents; • Disabled war veterans who are patients in any hospital, or their spouses and/or dependents; • Civilians attached to any branch of the Armed Forces, the Merchant Marines or the American Red Cross and serving outside of the United State, or their spouses and/or dependents; • People temporarily residing outside the territorial limits of the United States and the District of Columbia; • Students, teachers or administrators whose employment or studies necessitate their absence from their county of voting residence, or their dependent or spouse who maintains a common domicile outside the county of voting residence; • People who will be outside of their county of residence on Election Day; • People required to be at work on Election Day during the times at which the polls will be open; • People temporarily or permanently physically disabled; • People 65 years of age or older; • Parents, spouses or dependents of people having a temporary or permanent physical disability who are hospitalized outside their county of residence or more than 50 miles away from their residence if the parents, spouses and/or dependents will be with such people on Election Day; • Members of the Mississippi congressional delegation, or their spouses and/or dependents.

Anyone with questions about absentee voting may contact the circuit clerk’s office at 258-6287.

No Voter ID Mississippi voters will not need to present a voter ID or other approved photo identification to cast a ballot in the Nov. 6 general election.

Although more than 62 percent of Mississippi voters in November 2011 approved an amendment to the state Constitution requiring voters to present photo identification before casting a ballot, the election law has not yet received approval from the U.S. Department of Justice. Therefore, a voter ID will not be required to vote on Nov. 6.

Sample Ballot These candidates will appear on the Nov. 6 general election ballot: For President and Vice President • Barack Obama and Joe Biden (Democrat, incumbents) • Mitt Romney and Paul Ryan (Republican) • Virgil Goode and Jim Clymer (Constitution) • Gary Johnson and James P. Gray (Libertarian) • Jill Stein and Cheri Honkala (Green) • Barbara Dale Washer and Cathy L. Toole (Reform) For U.S. Senate • Albert N. Gore Jr. (Democrat) • Roger F. Wicker (Republican, incumbent) • Thomas Cramer (Constitution) • Shawn O’Hara (Reform) For U.S. House of Representatives 1st District • Brad Morris (Democrat) • Alan Nunnelee (Republican, incumbent) • Danny Bedwell (Libertarian) • Jim R. Bourland (Constitution) • Chris Potts (Reform) For Supreme Court Justice (Northern) District 3, Position 3 • Josiah Dennis Coleman (nonpartisan) • Richard “Flip” Phillips (nonpartisan) For Election Commissioner District 1 Only • Pauline Quinn (Democrat, incumbent) District 2 Only • Joyce T. James (Democrat, incumbent) District 3 Only • Etoile Herrod (Republican, incumbent) District 4 Only • Parvin M. South (Republican, incumbent) District 5 Only • Daphne McKibben (Republican, incumbent) • Larry Parker (Republican) For School Board District 3 Only • Jimmy A. Hood (nonpartisan) • Naioma K. Lamb (nonpartisan) District 4 Only • Scott Hollenhead (nonpartisan, incumbent) • Cherraye Oats (nonpartisan)