Education notes

Locals among MSU graduates Mississippi State University has released the graduation list for the 2012 spring term for Webster County. Honor graduates include all bachelor-degree candidates with exceptional scholastic averages and at least half the total required course hours earned at MSU. Their specific levels of recognition and the minimum required averages for each, based on a 4.0 scale, include summa cum laude, 3.80; magna cum laude, 3.60; and cum laude, 3.40.

The academic honors are recorded on the graduates’ diplomas and permanent records, as well as in the commencement program.

Robin Bell, Guntown, College of Education, BS Elizabeth Hall, Eupora, College of Education, BS, Summa Cum Laude Clint Hester, Eupora, College of Business, BBA Amy Hubbard, Eupora, College of Education, MS Courtney Kirkman, Maben, College of Education, BS Derek Klipstein, College of Education, MS Jason Smith, Mathiston, College of Education, BS Lauren Smith, Eupora, College of Education, MS Haley Wofford, Maben, College of Arts & Sciences, BA Cole Young, Eupora, Bagley College of Engineering, BS, Summa Cum Laude

MSU releases honors lists Mississippi State University has released the Dean’s/President’s List for the 2012 spring semester for Webster County.

Students on the President’s List achieved a 3.80 or better grade- point average, based on a 4.0 scale, while completing at least 12 semester hours of course work with no incomplete grades or grades lower than a C. Dean’s List students achieved a GPA between 3.5 and 3.79 under the same requirements. President’s List

• Eupora: Katherine Collum, Andrew Curry, Elizabeth Hall, Blakelee Parsons, Maggie Parsons, Kelsey Peterson, Brittney Whitaker and Cole Young • Guntown: Robin Bell • Maben: Courtney Kirkman and Terasa Sanders • Mathiston: Amanda Pugh and Jason Smith Dean’s List • Cedar Bluff: Sara Jones • Eupora: Clayton Browning, Brandon Chandler, Katherine Hairfield, Tracie Mitchell, Richard Soto and Lara Threet • Maben: Carley Mohan • Mantee: Joseph Carpenter • Mathiston: Christian Cunningham and Sarah Kilpatrick and Cortney McAdory • Stewart: David Murphy