Burns elected Chancery Conference vice-chair

From Press Reports

Chancellor Kenneth M. Burns of Okolona was elected vice-chair of the Conference of Chancery Judges on April 26 during the Trial and Appellate Judges Conference in Jackson.

Other conference officers are Chancellor Cynthia Brewer of Madison County, chair; Chancellor Joseph Kilgore of Philadelphia, conference secretary; and Chancellor William Singletary of Clinton, treasurer.

Burns has served as a chancellor of the 14th Chancery Court District since Jan. 1, 2003. The 14th Chancery is made up of Chickasaw, Clay, Lowndes, Noxubee, Oktibbeha and Webster counties.

Before his election to the chancery bench, Burns served for 13 years as a municipal judge. He is a former president of the Chickasaw County Bar Association and of the Okolona Chamber of Commerce.

Burns earned a bachelor of science degree in business from Mississippi State University and a law degree from the University of Mississippi School of Law.