6 file for Election Commission

From Staff Reports

WALTHALL — All posts on the Webster County Election Commission are unopposed in the Nov. 6 general election except one, which has two candidates.

Monday was the deadline to qualify for the office of election commissioner, districts 1-5. These candidates met the filing deadline, according to the circuit clerk’s office:

• District 1: Pauline Quinn • District 2: Joyce Tabb James • District 3: Etoile F. Herrod • District 4: Parvin South • District 5: Daphne McKibben and Larry Parker

All are incumbents except Parker, who is a former election commissioner. Two commissioners have been appointed within a month’s time to fill unexpired terms.

The Board of Supervisors appointed McKibben as District 5 commissioner on April 30 following the resignation of Faye Ford.

The county board appointed James as District 2 commissioner on May 31 after accepting the resignation of Gloris Berryhill.

Both Ford and Berryhill resigned for health reasons.