MDAH awards grant for Mantee Depot

From Press Reports

At their regular quarterly meeting in Jackson on May 16, the board of trustees of the Mississippi Department of Archives and History awarded more than $425,000 in grants, and approved seven new Mississippi Landmarks and 11 new state historical markers.

A grant from the Mississippi Landmark Grant Program was awarded to the Mantee Depot in Webster County.

The grant of $130,150 will go toward the relocation of the Mantee Depot to its original site on First Street. After it is stabilized and renovated, it will be used by the town as a welcome center/ community center.

Grants from the program may be used to pay the cost of acquisition, preservation, restoration, and operation of any Mississippi Landmark property. All buildings must have been designated Mississippi Landmarks prior to application.

Members of the board of trustees are Kane Ditto, president; Rosemary Taylor Williams, vice president; Reuben V. Anderson, Jackson; Nancy Carpenter, Columbus; E. Jackson Garner, Jackson; Web Heidelberg, Hattiesburg; Valencia Hall, Natchez; Hilda Cope Povall, Cleveland; and Roland Weeks, Biloxi.

The Mississippi Department of Archives and History is the second- oldest state department of archives and history in the United States. The department collects, preserves and provides access to the archival resources of the state, administers various museums and historic sites, and oversees statewide programs for historic preservation, state and local government records management, and publications.