Darrel Schmitz heads state Geologists Board

Dr. Darrel Schmitz, head of the geosciences department at Mississippi State University, has been elected president of the Mississippi State Board of Registered Professional Geologists, which is charged with administering the state’s Registered Professional Geologists Practice Act of 1997. The five-member board promotes “the public welfare by requiring any person in either public or private capacity practicing or offering to practice geology in this state to be registered, unless otherwise exempted by the act.” Board members represent the governmental sector, academia, geotechnical/environmental, mining/mineral extraction, and geologists at-large. Schmitz, a native of Eupora, is serving his second four-year term on the board. Appointed in 2009 by then-Gov. Haley Barbour, his current tenure runs through June 30, 2013. Additionally, Schmitz has also been elected president of the ASBOG Foundation, which supports the activities of the National Association of State Boards of Geology. ASBOG honored Schmitz with its prestigious Charles R. Sherman Award last fall. The Sherman Award is the organization’s only award, and it recognizes “meritorious service and mentoring.”