Primary vote set for Tuesday

[news]  Primary vote set for Tuesday

By Russell Hood
The Webster Progress-Times

Webster County voters will return to the polls Tuesday to cast ballots for president in party primaries.
Also on the ballot will be candidates for U.S Senate and House of Representatives.
Maben, Cumberland
Precinct Notices
Circuit Clerk Deborah Hood Neal has announced that because of legislative changes, all of the Maben precinct is now in Congressional District One instead of Congressional District Three.
Neal has also announced that the Department of Justice has approved the transfer of the voting precinct in Cumberland from the Cumberland Fire Department to Cumberland Baptist Church effective immediately.
Therefore, the March 13 primary will be held at Cumberland Baptist Church.
Absentee Voting
Qualified voters who have a legal reason to vote absentee may cast absentee ballots in the circuit clerk’s office in Walthall now through Saturday.
The clerk’s office will be open for absentee voting from 8 a.m. to noon Saturday, Saturday, which is the last day to vote by in-office absentee voting.
Contact the office for more information at 258-6287.
Races on Ballots
Races on the Republican ballot will include:
• For president (including some who have withdrawn): Michele Bachmann, Newt Gingrich, Jon Huntsman, Gary Johnson, Ron Paul, Rick Perry, Mitt Romney and Rick Santorum.
• For U.S. Senate: E. Allen Hathcock of Stewart, Robert Maloney of Madison and Roger F. Wicker of Tupelo (incumbent).
• For U.S. House of Representatives, 1st District: Robert Estes of Southaven, Alan Nunnelee of Tupelo (incumbent) and Henry Ross of Eupora.
Races on the Democratic ballot will include:
• For president: Barack Obama (incumbent).
• For U.S. Senate: Albert N. Gore Jr. of Starkville, Will Oatis of Silver Creek and Roger Weiner of Clarksdale.
• For U.S. House of Representatives, 1st District: Brad Morris of Oxford.